26-Sep-2023  Srinagar booked.net


Over 17 Unionists Of Azad's Faction Return To Congress



Srinagar: At least 17 leaders, who had resigned from the basic membership of the Indian National Congress to join Ghulam Nabi Azad's faction have returned to Congress by rejoining the party in New Delhi on Friday. 

They had resigned to support Ghulam Nabi Azad, who later formed his party—The democratic Azad Party, which has now been renamed as Democratic Progressive Azad Party.
The unionists include Tara Chand, Peerzada Muhammad Sayeed, Balwan Singh, Advocate Muzaffar Paray, Advocate Mohinder Bhardwaj, Bhushan Dogra, Virodh Sharma, Narendra Sharma, Naresh Sharma, Amresh Mangotra, Subhash Baghat, Santosh Manhas, Badrinath Sharma, Varun Mangotra, Anuradha Sharma and Vijay Sargotra.
MP Rajya Sabha and AICC General Secretary (Organization), K C Venugopal said the leaders have re-joined the party. 
He said these leaders and people from across the country including Jammu & Kashmir have also extended their support to the Bharat Jodo Yatra led by Congress President Rahul Gandhi. 
He said that former Congress leaders have also observed that they should also extend their support to their party and thus decided to join back.
Tara Chand while talking to reporters during the presser said that it is time for secular forces to join hands to defeat the ill designs on the ground.
“The secular-minded people should join hands to protect the country," he said.