22-May-2024  Srinagar booked.net


Over 68% Polling Recorded In Udhampur-Doda Constituency



Pir Panchal/Chenab/Jammu: Amid incessant showers, 68.27% of voters registered their choice in the Udhampur-Doda parliamentary constituency during the first phase of the seven-phased general elections in Jammu and Kashmir, according to officials.

Udhampur recorded the highest voter turnout at 70.76%, while Banihal logged the lowest turnout at 59.1%. The overall voting percentage was 68.27%, including 70.76% in Udhampur district, 66.42% in Doda district, 70.06% in Kathua district, 62.42% in Ramban district, and 67.75% in Kishtwar district.

After delimitation, the Udhampur-Doda constituency is spread over 18 assembly segments, with Kathua district accounting for the maximum of six seats, followed by four in Udhampur, three each in Kishtwar and Doda districts, and two in Ramban.

Official data shared by the District Electoral Officers (DEOs) of Doda and Ramban revealed the following voter turnout percentages: 63.02% in Bhaderwah, 68.14% in Doda, 69.36% in Doda West, 59.1% in Banihal, and 66.7% in Ramban.

However, the Chief Election Officer (CEO) did not provide a breakdown for Udhampur, Kathua, and Kishtwar districts.

Approximately 16.23 lakh voters scattered across Kathua, Udhampur, Doda, Kishtwar, and Ramban districts sealed the fate of 12 candidates, including BJP’s sitting MP Jitendra Singh, Congress’ Choudhary Lal Singh, and Democratic Progressive Azad Party (DPAP) candidate Ghulam Mohammad Saroori.

Out of the 18 assembly segments, the polling percentage remained below 60% in Banihal, where it stood at 59.1%. Only 72,434 out of 122,596 votes were polled in Banihal. In the Ramban Assembly segment, 64,391 votes were polled out of a total of 96,528 votes, accounting for 66.7% of the total votes.

Congress candidate Choudhary Lal Singh, who is out on bail in an alleged money laundering case being probed by the Enforcement Directorate, along with his wife Kanta Andotra, cast their votes in Kathua.

Singh, whose election rallies drew large crowds, expressed confidence in winning, stating, 'I salute the people of my constituency for their overwhelming response and support. Never before in my political career have I received such an overwhelming response from the people.'

Campaigning for the constituency ended on Wednesday evening after weeks of high-profile visits by the likes of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

(KNO Inputs)